blog · REVIEW · Uncategorized

Dead Until Dark Review

Dead Until Dark (Sookie StackHouse #1)

Charlaine Harris

3 stars

Goodreads Synopsis
Sookie Stackhouse is a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. She’s quiet, keeps to herself, and doesn’t get out much. Not because she’s not pretty. She is. It’s just that, well, Sookie has this sort of “disability.” She can read minds. And that doesn’t make her too dateable. And then along comes Bill. He’s tall, dark, handsome–and Sookie can’t hear a word he’s thinking. He’s exactly the type of guy she’s been waiting for all her life….

But Bill has a disability of his own: He’s a vampire with a bad reputation. He hangs with a seriously creepy crowd, all suspected of–big surprise–murder. And when one of Sookie’s coworkers is killed, she fears she’s next….

My Opinion 
To me this was another typical I am a vampire and I will protect you and look after you kind of story.I am not 100% certain how I feel after finishing this book. I did like some of it but other parts just got on my nerves, especially as she was flicking from the fact she wanted to be with him to not wanting to be with him within a couple of hours. I do fully understand where this was coming from but it still annoyed me. There were also a lot of sex scenes in there which I don’t think really all needed to be there. They could be slightly graphic to.

Bill (The Vampire), had an annoying trait in his personality. He made a big deal out of wanting to live with humans and not wanting to harm them but the minute when Sookie announced someone had annoyed her or if someone hurt her, he would leave in the dead of the night and ‘deal’ with them. This happened at least twice.

I like the who do it part of the story with regards to the strange things happening in the town and the twist at the end.

I will carry on to the next book to see if I like it any more than this one, but it wasn’t one of my favourites. If I was younger and still going through my ‘twilight’ stage I probably would of liked it a little more.

Leave a Reply

