blog · Goodreads · REVIEW

Six of Crows Review

dotted-ends-4

Leigh Bardugo 

Purchased book from Amazon

512 Pages 

Finished 6th Dec 2016

☆☆☆☆

Goodreads Synopsis 

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes
 

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

My Thoughts

It took me a while to get into this book, which I was really surprised about as I heard a lot of good things about it. I was close to giving up on the book as it was not capturing my attention as I had hoped. 

I don’t like giving up on books especially one where I know I will like it just of the synopsis. 

As I grew to like the characters more and more, I liked the way the story was going more and more as well. I thought the development of all the characters more so kaz was amazing and I couldn’t wait to find out more about them. I did keep finding myself forgetting they were young and thinking these characters where older adults throughout and was reminded every so often once the age was brought up by another character they interact within the plot, which I thought was an interesting thing the author put in, whether it was meant that way or not. 

I find it refreshing that even though you can see there is a ‘love interest’ between some of the characters nothing has been acted upon. I like this because I am so used to reading YA books which include a love interest or relationship acted upon so easily. 

I really did enjoy this book and would highly recommend it to anyone who is thinking of reading it. I can not wait to start the next one, which I am so glad I purchased at the same time. 

If any of you have read this book please let me know what your thoughts were

Leave a Reply

