2017 · blog · January · REVIEW

The Chemist Review

copy-of-dotted-ends

41-i6x3p4dl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

Author: Stephenie Meyer 

Purchased: Amazon 

Finished: 27th  January 2017 

✪✪✪.5

dotted-ends-9

In this gripping page-turner, an ex-agent on the run from her former employers must take one more case to clear her name and save her life.

She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.

Now, she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.

When her former handler offers her a way out, she realizes it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous.

Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.

dotted-ends-10

I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was a well-written book and I would definitely buy another book by Stephenie Meyer.  

I have to admit the only reason I wanted to read this book was because I did really enjoy the book, The Host, written by this author. I wanted to give another book by her a chance.  

I had a few problems with this book, but they weren’t too massive to ruin the whole experience for me. There were parts mainly at the beginning of the book where I could see what were going to be happening next, I liked to be kept guessing and this was just too obvious even though it wasn’t for the main character, as well as the beginning there were places throughout the book when plot was pretty obvious. 

The male main character, Daniel, just got on my nerves. He just wouldn’t listen and for someone on the run and a school teacher (guessing he had some brains about him) you would have thought about his consequences of the actions he was taking. This did happen at numerous points. I am not trying to say it is easy being on the run (I have never tried it) but you would think about the actions before you take them. 

The next thing that really bothers me, was falling in “LOVE” at first sight. I am not going to say any more on this. 

The ending was something that really bothered me, I didn’t understand it. I DO NOT understand why Stephenie would end it the way that she did!

AND NOW 

let’s get to the parts I thought were really good. I really enjoyed the way that the story flowed throughout the book. It flowed really easily and it did feel forced in any way. 

The character development I felt was good within two of the main characters. I felt like there was some development there. although some things could have been elaborated more. 

I also liked the action throughout the story to be really gripping as well. I felt that the things that happened action-wise were something believable and didn’t feel too far fetched at all. 

I liked the way that the female main character thought throughout the book and how logical she was, fitting with her scientist background. 

I would recommend this book to people but I would warn them about the few flaws I found, especially the ending.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

