2017 · blog

Thoughts Thursday…

dotted-ends

I have NO idea how this is going to go down or whether anyone will read this, but I thought i’d do a ramble post about reading and my feelings. I might do this every thursday or every other thursday with different topics, I will have to see how it goes. 

My Reading Thoughts

I used to be someone who could read and read and read and never get bored. I always had a book in my hand, everyone knew it BUT  over the passed couple of years my reading has considerably slowed down and I find myself reading books i have read hundreds of times and counting them towards my goodreads challenge. I can’t think of a single book I read last year that was new of the top of my head.
This upsets me massively.

Reading was a hobby, a passion. Now I am just not feeling it. 

SO 

I took the pressure of my self. First I started with my kindle, this is what I mainly use to read due to the ease of reading when I am on the train or using public transport. I signed into my amazon account and managed all my content. 

I went through every single book which I had on my kindle purchased through amazon and defined my genre, I then put these into the collection related to the genre. I also deleted quite a few books which were in there that I know I am never going to read. This in my mind was refreshing and removed the hunge number of books I could see and the pressure it put on me. After this, I only downloaded to my actual kindle the collections I knew at the moment I was interested in 

I then went and did the same to goodreads “to-read” list, I removed anything I was no longer interested in. I have in the passed done this to my book cases to but think I may do it agan some time soon, maybe this weekend. 

All the pressure of the numbers is off my back and I have been so much more relaxed when reading that I have actually started enjoyig it again and I have read a book faster than I have been doing and stuck to the book I am reading rather than reading 6 at the same time. 

THIS IS THE PART WHERE PEOPLE MIGHT HATE ME. 

I like reading more on my kindle and this is now going to be my choice of reading from now on. I will continue to buy books (I am collecting all the Terry Pratchett books) but the majority I purchase are now going to be ebooks. 

Let me know in the comments if you think the TBR numbers on either the “to-read” list on Goodreads or the number of books you can see impacts you and your reading

Leave a Reply

