REVIEW

The Body under the Bridge

9781782641070

The Body Under the Bridge

Paul McCusker

Version: Ebook

☆☆☆☆.5

** I was sent this book via NetGallery in Exchange for a honest review **

Description:

A former Scotland Yard detective, Father Gilbert knows about death. But, now a priest of a modest Anglican church in the small town of Hailsham, he didn’t expect it to show up like this–in the suicide of a man who threw himself off the church tower, and in the discovery of a two-hundred-year-old body beneath an ancient bridge.

The deaths are linked. The mummified corpse under the bridge, a murder victim, reignites a centuries-old battle between two local families–the Todds and the aristocratic Hayshams. Then both David Todd and Lord Haysham begin to act strangely, fearful for reasons they won’t explain.

When Lord Haysham is murdered, David Todd is the prime suspect. But Todd is maniacal, claiming great forces of evil are at work. An entire history of violence and depravity begins to emerge, interweaving the history of several local families with a secret occult society that engages in Black Masses. Has the Society emerged again

My Thoughts:

I read the description of this book on NetGallery and decided to request this book for review. What grabbed my attention was the ‘Former Scotland Yard Detective” character in the story. I am a sucker for all things crime and police related in a story. I didn’t know what I would think about the story surrounding a priest and a church but I thought I’d give it a go anyway.

This book for me was so different, mixing crime with paranormal and also with religious subjects. I really enjoyed it. The characters where really likeable and apart from Mary Ashton, who I really didn’t like, I didn’t dislike any of the others. 

Paul McCusker is a very good author and even though I didn’t picked this book up in a while, due to personal reasons, the minute I picked it back up again, I could just jump right into it as if I had never put it down.

Overall:

I would recommend this book to any body who likes Crime books or Paranormal books. 

Leave a Reply

