2016 · blog · Training

My First Tech Summit 


Today I attended my very first Tech Summit and to be extremely honest it wasn’t like anything I expected. 

Just for a little bit of background. I have been doing lots of Microsoft courses recently, admittingly I have  not been doing as well as I could of been doing and haven’t studied as much as I should. I am doing a Network Engineer Apprenticeship with Firebrand Training and These Microsoft courses are something I have chosen to do for the apprenticeship. 

So far I have participated in the Office 365 course and the Windows Server 2012 R2 course. I have passed the first exam (70-346) of the Office 365 course so I am Microsoft Certified Professional.

On one of these training courses I heard about a free event put on by Microsoft in Birmingham NEC and this is the Tech Summit I am currently attending (just completed day 1).

 

9:00-10:00 : Registration (I had done this online but we needed to get our badges scanned and put in lanyards). 

10:00-11:15 : Tech Summit Keynote 

11:30-12:45 : An overview of the Microsoft Application platform for developers 

12:45-13:45 : Lunch  – All lunch was provided free of charge and they catered for all needs including my Gluten free requirement 

13:45-15:00 : Introducing Microsoft Teams 

15:15-16:30 : Explore the new, cross-platform .Net Core 1.0 

16:45-18:00 : Migrating to Exchange Online via Hybrid over the long haul. 

I enjoyed everything I went in to listen too; a few things, like the .Net talks, were very new to me as I am not a developer. .Net is something I would like to start looking into once my Apprenticeship is over and done with so I thought attending these may be beneficial in the long run

This Tech Summit is something I would love to attend next year (so far) , I am learning so much and listening to lots of interesting information. It’s made me realize I need to look into my career more and taking more of a interest in what I need to do to get to where I want to be. I think this was the boost I needed to do this for myself. 

Each talk was held in a giant inflatable igloo which were really good at separating everything out in the hall.

Please have a look at some of the pictures I have taken on day 1. I will have more pictures up tomorrow in the day 2 post, I will also have more information about what we did and my overall thoughts on the entire event. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Leave a Reply

