2017 · reading · REVIEW · updates

Horns by Joe Hill Review

8727968.jpg

Author: Joe Hill 

Purchased: Amazon (ebook) 

Finished: Saturday 8th April 2017

Rating: ✪✪✪.5

 

Synopsis: 

Ignatius Perrish spent the night drunk and doing terrible things. He woke up the next morning with one hell of a hangover, a raging headache . . . and a pair of horns growing from his temples.

Once, Ig lived the life of the blessed: born into privilege, the second son of a renowned American musician, and the younger brother of a rising late-night TV star, Ig had security and wealth and a place in his community. Ig had it all, and more – he had the love of Merrin Williams, a love founded on shared daydreams, mutual daring, and unlikely midsummer magic.
Then beautiful, vivacious Merrin was gone – raped and murdered, under inexplicable circumstances – with Ig the only suspect. He was never tried for the crime, but in the court of public opinion, Ig was and always would be guilty.
Now Ig is possessed with a terrible new power – with just a touch he can see peoples’ darkest desires – to go with his terrible new look, and he means to use it to find the man who killed Merrin and destroyed his life. Being good and praying for the best got him nowhere. It’s time for a little revenge; it’s time the devil had his due.

My Opinion:

Let me start my saying even though it took me over an entire month to read this book I did enjoy it, I just wasn’t up to reading so this is going to be a mini review because of how long it took me to read it I didn’t make notes on how I felt throughout the month reading it. 

I really like how the characters stories grew throughout and how you got to know them all a little better as everything progressed. I really enjoyed the writing style and will pick up some more of his books in the future. I also want to watch the movie now and see how it compares 

The ending really bothered me though and I think I am going to have to think about it some more and see whether it still bothers me it just didn’t end how I wanted it to end and I thought the ending wasn’t as satisfying as I wanted it to be. 

Once I get back into reading more books and getting back into things I may give this one a read to pad it out some more. 

I just wanted to know what happened too all the characters and I have been left wondering about what has happened to them more than I expected to this is my reason for the 3.5 star review rather than the 4 star review I wanted to give it. 

 

6 thoughts on “Horns by Joe Hill Review

Leave a Reply

