2017 · REVIEW · updates

The Name of the Wind Review

cover_uk

Author: Patrick Rothfuss 

Purchased: Waterstones 

Date Finished: 14th April 

✪✪✪
Synopsis:

‘I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. My name is Kvothe. You may have heard of me’ So begins the tale of Kvothe – currently known as Kote, the unassuming innkeepter – from his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, through his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-riddled city, to his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a difficult and dangerous school of magic. In these pages you will come to know Kvothe the notorious magician, the accomplished thief, the masterful musician, the dragon-slayer, the legend-hunter, the lover, the thief and the infamous assassin. The Name of the Wind is fantasy at its very best, and an astounding must-read title.

My thoughts:

Ok, I really don’t know where to start with this review in the slightest. I really liked parts of the book but then skim read other parts especially towards the end, then the last 15-20 pages I really got into it. 

so as you can tell my thoughts are all over the place. It took me over 2 months to read this book, NOW, I was partly in a slump and hadn’t finished a single book for 2 months, I wasn’t reading every day and I wasn’t exactly excited to pick it up until I got to parts I liked. I thought it was dragged out a little in certain places and to me some of it just didn’t make sense. 

The main character slightly annoyed me when he was younger because of the things he did even, he was kind but also stupid and was doing everything in his power (in my opinion) to get kicked out of the university, which was somewhere he had always wanted to be. 

These books are not entirely short but I think certain thinks could of been left out entirely. 

I did really like the interlude chapters (even though there were tiny) because it gave me a break from the main “story”

now my dilemma begins, the ending has interested me enough to think I want to pick up the second book, but because they are so pick I am unsure whether it would be a wise thing to do.

Has anyone read the second book? Is it better, more action packed than the first? Let me know what you think in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

