2017 · blog · May · REVIEW

Brake Failure Review

LIGHTER DISTRICT-6

33822874

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

“Is it too late to tell him you love him when you are looking down the barrel of his gun?”

An English debutante transforms from Miss-Perfectly-Correct to criminally insane as she breaks the bonds of her rigid upbringing. Sheriff Hank Gephart tries to reel her in – but she’s out of control and she’s not hitting the brakes.

What happened to the genteel lady in twin-set and pearls? And why did she shoot Mr Right?

Brake Failure is set in 1999 in the months leading up to Y2K “meltdown” when the US government was spending $150 billion preparing for Armageddon As Lionel Shriver says in her novel, We Have To Talk About Kevin: “1999, a year widely mooted beforehand as the end of the world.”

My Thoughts:

I started this book one night on my kindle and read it to around 25% on my kindle. I really enjoyed the story and the characters. The next night I picked it up and I didnt put it down until I finished it at 1:57am. I really liked the main character Ruby but I really really didn’t like her sister Claire. Some of Rubys choices really irritated me and sometimes I thought she was acting spoilt. 

I didn’t really have any feelings towards her relationship with her husband and this were one of the only tiny issue with the story line.

I really enjoyed the way that Alison Brodie writes and the way the story flowed when flipping through the events that had happened (past and present). The ending was just right for me although the other small little thing that I didnt understand (I dont want to explain any further due to spoilers) but don’t let this little niggle stop you from reading this book because I dont think it took anything away from the story itself. 

I cant wait to read more by Alison Brodie and will be waiting patiently for her next book to come out. In the meantime I will hunt for other books she has written. 

I would HIGHLY recommend this book to everyone who wants a quick read.

 

One thought on “Brake Failure Review

  1. Pingback: May Wrap up

Leave a Reply

