2017 · REVIEW

The Dwarves Review

LIGHTER DISTRICT

Synopsis from Goodreads

For countless millennia, no man or beast has ever succeeded in breaching the stone gateway into Girdlegard. Until now… Abandoned as a child, Tungdil the blacksmith is the only dwarf in a kingdom of men. But when he is sent out into the world to deliver a message and reacquaint himself with his people, the young foundling finds himself thrust into a battle for which he has not been trained. Not only his own safety, but the life of every man, woman and child in Girdlegard depends upon his ability to embrace his heritage. Although he has many unanswered questions, Tungdil is certain of one thing: no matter where he was raised, he is a true dwarf. And no one has ever questioned the courage of the Dwarves.

My Thoughts

This book surprised me. I picked it up whilst browsing around Waterstones for new reads, I read the synopsis are I thought it was something I would be interested in. I loved it, half way through reading I went to pick up book 2 so I knew I could carry on after I have finished the first book. I really liked the character development and the world building regarding the clans of dwarves that are mentioned in this book. Towards the end, I did find myself wanting to shake Tungdil and point out the obvious. I can’t wait to get into the next book and I think this will become a favourite series of mine. I really enjoyed Markus Heitz writing and If he has more books translated from german I will be wanting to read them in the future. 

I highly recommend this series if you’re into fantasy, mage, magic, ogres and other fantasy creatures. 

2 thoughts on “The Dwarves Review

  1. Pingback: May Wrap up

Leave a Reply

